Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Baginski Brandt & Brandt Port St. Lucie Criminal & Family Attorneys
  • Family Law, Divorce & Estate Planning
  • ~
  • Schedule a Confidential Consultation
  • ~
  • Ask Us About Payment Plans

Port St. Lucie Hit and Run Defense Attorney


Fleeing the scene of a crash or committing a “hit and run” is a serious crime in Florida. There are various penalties depending on the circumstances of the collision. If you have been arrested or are under investigation for a hit and run, you need to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney at once.

Responsibilities of Drivers Involved in Traffic Collisions

If you are involved in a collision with another driver, pedestrian, cyclist, motorcyclist, or parked car, you must do the following whether you were at fault or not, according to Florida statutes 316.027, 316.061, and 316.063:

  • Immediately stop at the scene of the crash;
  • Provide reasonable assistance to any injured parties, including taking them to the hospital or calling 911;
  • Report the crash to law enforcement;
  • Provide your name, vehicle registration, and address to the other driver;
  • Show your driver’s license if the other driver requests to see it;
  • Provide license, registration, address, and any other information requested by law enforcement; and
  • If the other vehicle is unattended, you must notify the nearest police authority and find the owner or “attach securely in a conspicuous place in or on the vehicle or other property” a note that provides your name, address, vehicle license plate, and registration.

Penalties for Fleeing the Scene of Property-Damage-Only Crash

The penalty for fleeing the scene of a property damage only crash is a second degree misdemeanor with a fine of up to $500 and 60 days in jail.

Penalties for Fleeing the Scene of Bodily Injury Crash

The penalty for fleeing the scene of a crash that causes bodily injury to the other party is a third degree felony, resulting in up to five years in prison and a maximum fine of $5,000.

Penalties for Fleeing the Scene of Fatal Crash

The penalty for fleeing the scene of a crash in which someone was killed, whether you were at fault or not, is a first degree felony, which carries a maximum 30 year prison sentence and $10,000 fine.

Defense of Hit and Run

There are not many defenses to a hit and run. The jury is unlikely to believe any of the following unless you have substantial evidence supporting your claim:

  • You did not know that you hit the other party;
  • You had to rush to respond to a separate emergency; and
  • You fled out of fear that the other party was going to cause you serious harm.

However, an experienced attorney can substantially reduce the charges against you whether you have one of the above defenses or not.

Our Port St. Lucie Hit and Run Lawyers Are Here to Help

Committing a hit and run is a serious crime, and the charges against you demand an experienced criminal defense lawyer. For professional legal defense, call the Port St. Lucie criminal lawyers at Baginski Brandt & Brandt today at 772-466-0707 to schedule a free consultation.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation